You feel like home

I have been looking for a good way to start this post but none will ever be good enough I guess. So…

edit: It turned into something other than expected! hah.

We are very privileged people. If you have a computer and/or a smartphone and are reading this right now, take a moment and be thankful for it maybe. I consider myself quite a privileged human, because I have had and will have a huge amount of chances to go out of my comfort zone, to travel and meet people. Lately I’ve been grabbing these chances almost before they appear… I have some youth exchanges down my personal history book (hungry for more!), I started mentoring EVS volunteers, and generally the past year I have been to so many places, met so many people and made so many friends that home doesn’t feel like home anymore.

And what does feel like home then? The people. The people feel like home. Home is wherever I’m with you… And if we’re talking about the people who are or would love to be free-spirited ever-moving-place-dwellers (what?) like me, it’s a win-win situation.

I found out during this short quest of self-discovery that not only do I feel at peace when I am anywhere but home, but also that I am much more solitary than I thought. Which only means it’s a matter of time before I leave this shit of a city-I unconsciously started cutting my ties to everyone and everything years ago. Of course, as with everything, there are exceptions… There’s a tiny handful of people for whom I would move continents for, no matter what. Cubi being their king.

So, travelling… I basically started writing to account my Cyprus adventures (or lack thereof) ^^;
Who would believe it one year ago that I would have jumped on a plane to visit a lovely Catalan I met in the Netherlands and that I would stay in 5 different places, one for each night, one of them being the house of the boyfriend of  one of the volunteers I’m mentoring? (Scheisse, that was complicated even to write)

I want to make it my life purpose to get people out of their comfort zone because I’m struggling with it too. A lot of friends of mine said they admired my courage and effort to visit “these people” who are so far away yet so close to my heart and it made me wonder how much (or little) people value human relationships and fresh experiences at the present time. I mean, come on! They’re only a plane or a bus away, and thinking of the endless possibilities of food tasting and people gathering boggles my mind.


If I hadn’t taken the step to go out into the unknown territory of a distant friend reunion, I would never have known the pure perfection of this vacation. I would never have known the serenity of lying silently on fresh grass in extreme heat, the blessed feeling of going to sleep and waking up with the sky staring at you, the cold stone ice cream, the empowering feeling of overcoming my fear of biking through a city. I would never have been introduced properly to GeoCaching, I would never have met a guy who liked my drawings so much that he wants me to visualize his idea for a graphic novel, I would never have realised how careless of a cook I am or never found Bulgarian beer in that god-forsaken island.

6 days so lazy but so full, full of laughter and weird deep conversations and food, lazy with jabbahutting [just lying somewhere, preferably on sand, doing nothing but talking nonsense] and butt-burning at the beach and frappe and Kamenitza and failure cookie-tasting.

Cyprus felt like home for some reason, the scenery was totally Greek to me and a lot of other places reminded me of Thessaloniki or Patra or Halandri and I guess it’s true-only lost people come on this island trying to find something, and surprisingly I found it, even though I didn’t know I was looking for it.

This world has a weird sense of humour, sometimes twisted, and instead of trying to understand it, I am trying to go with its flow. It’s not easy, nobody said it would be. Get out there, surprises imminent.

I’d like to thank all the people who made this trip truly unique in their own (helpful or not) way! ^ω^

Scan

inner conversation: -This is so silly, I shouldn’t even have scanned it. -Nonsense! It’s cute, it’s nice thing to complement your post. -But the people are all wron- -Shut up and drink some frappe OK

(I am sure I forgot people and wrote names wrong. And the scan is not so good. OH WELL)

 

DSC_7844-2

[Later] -It’s a lighthouse. – No, it’s not.

Planets made entirely of water and golden and blue lights entering liquified dreams.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

