Series #01 | Masters of Sex

masters-of-sex-poster

I finally finished Masters of Sex.

I have the habit of not reading the plot for the majority of movies and series I watch, leaving myself to be pleasantly (or not) surprised by what I see, free of judgement. I had no idea what Masters of Sex involved, especially the fact that it contains less sex than Game of Thrones.

The plot derives from a real-life sexuality study by the (almost) invincible couple Masters and Johnson. It mainly revolves around those two, with the rest of the romantically or sexually involved characters serving as a heartbreaking bonus for the series. The second half of the first season left me feeling sorry for every human being the writers chose to torture emotionally.

Masters of Sex starrs Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan, whose on-screen chemistry wins all the awards.
I believe this one is not everyone’s cup of tea, but I would strongly suggest you give it a try. It might surprise you. I also wouldn’t put in on top of my list, but I quite enjoyed it-the music, costumes and sets are also pretty good. The second season starts in a couple of months and I’m curious to find out how things will unfold…

Thanks Nek for suggesting this to me!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

