random post on the expansion of my culinary horizons #03

DSC_5899

Mom’s Ragout!

Ok, it’s been some time since I cooked this one, but it’s never too late to post the (kind of?) recipe, I guess. ^^

So one day my mother came back from the laiki (how do you english speakers say it? street market?) and as I had requested, with her came good amounts of various delicious veggies. I had no idea what I’d really do with them so she suggested I make a veggie ragout, which at the time sounded just great.

This recipe doesn’t have exact proportions of ingredients, you can throw in as much of and anything that you like. As far as I can remember, we put in peppers, mushrooms, mini-tomatoes, carrots and potatoes. Since the food may be accompanied by rice, I wouldn’t really suggest the potatoes, but do as you please.

So you chop chop your vegetables, not too big, not too small, and prepare a big pot with around 2 tablespoons of oil, 2 minced cloves of garlic and one sliced onion (or put in multi-blender). Sauté them for a couple of minutes. Throw in everything, along with spices of your choice. (We used some parsley too.) Stir until veggies are tasting good for you😀 Hm, I know that you probably don’t throw in all ingredients at once but I was too lazy to pay attention to these “rules” and the food turned out great.

You might want to boil some rice or pasta for this dish, it’s really up to you. This food is super easy and super delicious so give it a try!😀

(Boris’ use of the word “super” to describe anything has stuck with me, dammit!)

DSC_5903

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

