random post on the expansion of my culinary horizons #02

DSC_5046

Portobello and white mushrooms ready to fill the kitchen with mouth-watering smells, guest starring Osteocare

DSC_5049

Yesterday Nektaria came over. After giving her the long-delayed christmas present, we got down to business and cooked a super delicious risotto… plus chocolate chip cookies!
Curiously enough, I haven’t ruined a risotto once-I even did it without my mom supervising me the first time, trusting my culinary instincts (which don’t always prove to be right, but eh!). This time I decided to make it a bit more challenging, so I wanted to add to the materials I usually use. We used this recipe, minus the bay leaves and parsley, plus some krokos Kozanis and voilá!

DSC_5048

Safran at work!

The cookies I made by myself-they were bigger than expected because of the misleading “two heaping tablespoons of dough into a ball” of the recipe instructions. I found them a bit too sugary/buttery, even though I didn’t use that much sugar and threw in less butter than suggested. They were really soft, which at first seemed peculiar to me, but Nek assured me that this is the way Americans like dem cookies. I still prefer this recipe, though (guaranteed success, there’s even an even easier version, and you can remove the red element and use Betty Crocker Devil’s Food Cake Mix). And there’s still SO MANY COOKIES TO TRY! *flies off leaving flour dust trail*

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “random post on the expansion of my culinary horizons #02

  1. cubilone7 January 11, 2014 at 17:29 Reply

    Can you send me a tupperwareful of stuff? Thanks. :) Yesterday I failed my first risotto (too much rosemary) and I was cooking for many people, too, so I need the energy boost your cooking would give me! <3

    • dafnugen January 11, 2014 at 18:06 Reply

      And send you I shall! M-hmmm. Prepare for the expansion of my culinary horizons version Sofia!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

